Join us on our Dormitory Stories “tour” — highlighting the history and beauty of the eight dorm buildings on Trinity-Pawling’s campus!
Our current students know Barstow as a dorm here on campus — but it was originally built in the 1930s as the School’s Science Center! Situated on the southwest corner of the quad, it is named for Frederic Duclos Barstow from the Class of 1915. When the three-story brick building was dedicated in May of 1937, it was described as “the most modern preparatory school science building in the country”. In 1977, it was converted to a dormitory. Known for its spacious rooms, tall ceilings, and large windows, it now houses juniors and seniors.
Officially named the Alfonzo Rockwell Cluett Foundation, Cluett was built in 1909 and remains the oldest dormitory and most iconic building on campus. It is named for Alfonzo Cluett, the son of George B. Cluett, who had been a student of Trinity-Pawling’s fearless founder and first headmaster, Dr. Gamage.
Today, Cluett looks from the outside much like it did when it was built over 114 years ago; although from 1969-1995, it did not have any turrets or a fourth floor, due to the tragic fire of 1969. Cluett currently houses the School’s administrative offices, Gardiner Library and Learning Commons, the MakerSpace, and The Cave, a student lounge. The building is also home to two floors of dorm rooms (typically for juniors and seniors) and faculty apartments, on both the north and sound ends. It’s known for its stunning views of both the quad and the western hillside.
Dunbar Hall was constructed on campus in 1966. It is named in honor of longtime and beloved faculty members Bill and Helene Dunbar, who dedicated more than 30 years of service to Trinity-Pawling. Situated at the northeast corner of the quad, Dunbar is divided into two distinct units of dorms — Dunbar North and Dunbar South — and is connected by a student lounge. It currently houses a mix of freshmen and sophomores, with a small group of upperclassmen who serve as dorm proctors.
East was constructed in 1963 during a frenzy of building projects on campus that began to keep pace with the growing number of enrolled students. Overlooking the beloved quad, East is one of Trinity-Pawling’s smallest dorms and is currently home to a small group of underclassmen and typically a pair of senior proctors.
HASTINGS (originally Colonnade)
The groundbreaking ceremony and construction for Colonnade began in 1964 and was completed in 1965. The building was renamed Hastings Hall in 1992 in honor of alumnus and longtime trustee William Bradford Turner Hastings ’37. With East and Owen constructed just before (in 1963 and 1960 respectively), Colonnade/Hastings filled out the far side of the quad on campus.
Similar to Dunbar, Hastings is divided into two distinct dorm units — Hastings North and Hastings South — and is connected by a student lounge. The dorm is home to a mix of underclassmen residents with a small group of upperclassmen proctors.
Johnson was built in 1957 to house an ever-growing student body at Trinity-Pawling. Its construction represented the first significant expansion on campus, as it was the first dormitory built to supplement student housing in Cluett.
Named for Glover Johnson, a former trustee, the dorm is conveniently located close to the Dann Academic Building and All Saints’ Chapel. Earlier this year, the construction of Johnson’s new roof was completed and gave it a stunning new look. The two-story dorm is typically home to juniors and seniors on campus.
OWEN (originally West House)
Originally named West House, Owen was built in 1960. At Trinity-Pawling’s 1985 graduation ceremony, the dorm was renamed and dedicated to John and Lois Lloyd Owen in honor of their longtime service to the School (over 3 decades!). Situated next to East Dorm on the far side of the quad, Owen is one of Trinity-Pawling’s smallest dorms and typically houses a mix of juniors and seniors.
Starr Hall was built in 1984 and is named in honor of the Starr Foundation, whose generosity made the construction possible. In 1989, a wing was added to the east of Starr overlooking the pond on campus, which added 10 new student rooms and a faculty apartment. Known for its beautiful views of the quad and the campus pond, Starr is currently home to a mix of underclassmen, with a small group of upperclassmen proctors.
Be sure to check out our Virtual Campus Tour to see the rest of our beautiful campus, or better yet, schedule a visit! Whether you are an alumnus or future member of the Pride, we can’t wait to welcome you — visit www.trinitypawling.org/visit to get started.
by Emma Quigley